Skip to content

YKAG Day 1

April 16, 2010

So a blog that I’ve been reading, a part of the reason why I even started this blog, has issued a challenge that I intend to take. The blog is called youknowagay, and it’s mission is both personal and national: the writer has told one person a day for one hundred days that he is gay in order to spread awareness of the civil rights issues today. His hundredth day being today, he has challenged readers to do as he did for at least thirty days.
I am doing this because I feel his cause is noble and grounded in truth: the only way to make a change is to get people to know they are affected. So here I go. Day one.

For day one, I wanted to tell someone that had an effect on me early on in my life. I went back through all my old things to try and find information on my good friends of my smurf years…. My discoveries were small to say the least. I’ll need to table this search for later.

Instead, for day one I’ve decided to contact one of my old middle school teachers. She taught me algebra 1 to be precise. My mom taught her daughters Kindergarten, so she was more than just another teacher to me. What I loved most about her was her energy and vivacity. Even though she knew we weren’t the biggest math enthusiasts, she fostered in us a willingness to keep up with math and to try to enjoy it. While very noble and good of her, it was still boring. However, I attribute my 4 on the AP Stat test to her wall theory: she believed that everyone will hit the math wall eventually, and that when it happens all you have to do is study hard and push through to make it over. I heeded her advice, and I feel I am more studious and organized because of it. That also may have been caused by her catching me trying to trick her into thinking I did my homework which led her to make an example of me to the class. I choose to believe the former. I also choose to believe that she will be receptive to my ideas and will support me. But I can’t be sure.

*****************************************

The above was written before I actually emailed her. Let me just tell you, I haven’t had to actively come out in over a year, and the feeling wasn’t missed. I was slightly terrified. We’ll see what happens though.

Until next time,

~T

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2010 5:25 pm

    congrats on day 1! i look forward to following your journey!

  2. gerry permalink
    April 19, 2010 9:57 am

    Trenton, I applaud you for starting your blog.

Trackbacks

  1. YKAG Day 2 « TrentonianTV
  2. Monkey Slave Labor « TrentonianTV

Leave a Reply

