Skip to content

It’s Not Greek For Me

September 18, 2010

Today I went on a big round-robin style tour of the six fraternity houses on campus. What I had hoped to be a good experience which would lead to endless opportunities ended up being a really big disappointment.

I guess it was doomed from the start. In the email about the tours, they included a bit about the dress code. Who forgot to dress in slacks, shirt, and tie and rather wore fake Sperry’s plaid shorts with no button and a blue polo also missing a button? Me. As always. Add in to that the fact I was the ONLY kid to forget. I’ll definitely get a bid now. About halfway through the tours I wasn’t really bothered by it anymore because a bigger red flag popped up.

I get that America is a land of slow change, and I know I probably won’t see a time of complete tolerance. But this to me (especially at the time) seemed out of hand. As I toured the houses, it seemed like the cool thing to do was make gay jokes. Maybe I’m too sensitive. Maybe I should have seen it coming (it is a frat house after all). I’m not going to whine on here because it won’t help anything. All I know is that this is starting to feel like it isn’t for me. Which is disappointing for me because I really wanted it to work out. A part of me that errs on institutional feels like maybe if I weren’t so gay that things would be easy. But I’m not going to indulge in that vein of thought. I am better than it.

There are open houses all this week, but due to tech rehearsals for Assassins I won’t make it to very many, if at all. If I do get to go, I’ll make an effort to really meet the guys. Maybe I just saw a terrible first impression and they are nothing like that. But I’m not holding my breath.

Stay Tuned,

~T

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

