Skip to content

Nowhere Is Safe

December 2, 2010

I’ve seen Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows three times: twice in theaters, once on my laptop streaming this awful quality recording someone took during a show in a theater.

Here are some pics of friends and me at the premiere:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I can’t get enough. I have been listening to ‘O Children’ on loop on my iPod ever since. I’ve started to re-read all the books. I sleep with my wand under my pillow for fear of another zombified Bathilda Bagshot or Bellatrix LeStrange coming into my dorm at night. I legitimately think I’m going crazy. Over Thanksgiving break, I played LEGO Harry Potter: Years 1-4 with my sisters every day (well, in between the ever exciting rounds of RISK i’d been asked to play). I finally watched A Very Potter Musical (I’m still working on the sequel). I don’t know what is happening to me. It’s like a wave of nostalgia and dorkiness washed over me and freed me from my bonds of normalcy and conformation. I’m really embarrassed to say this, but sometimes even now I like to pretend it is all real.

There goes half my readers…

I know I’m insane. I get it. But hear me out. I think I may have deducted reasons for this with the help of the strands of information I remember from helping my friend Stacy study for psychology:

  1. Lots of stress – – I think I remember her studying this thing where when people undergo a lot of stress, they retreat into a much less stressful and happier place. I guess since it is finals, I’m stressed to do well, and the timing of this movie opened the door into that less stressful and happier place in my life when I was a Pott-Head
  2. *Note: when making a list, have more than one thing to list…

I’ll take number one as my reason for this, as piecemeal as it may be. It sure makes sense. I’d rather be running from Death Eaters, embarking on epic adventures than to be studying for finals. And being sick and miserable just adds into the escape-effect it has on me. And the books had a major cultural impact, even before the movies. As my friend put it, J.K. Rowling taught our generation to read. So the memory aspect holds a lot of weight within the pleasant-escapes feel. Also, When the movies first came out, I was the same age as the characters, so in a way I grew up with the characters, thus I have anxiety over the fact that their story is over, paralleling into my own fear of closing the book on my childhood and having to be a real live functioning adult.

In summary: I’m crazy and need medication.

I guess you knew that already though.

~T

One Comment leave one →
  1. Calli permalink
    December 5, 2010 10:01 pm

    This is great. I love how you use Harry Potter as an “escape,” because it means that I’m not alone. Haha.

Leave a Reply

