Skip to content

The Homecoming

December 22, 2010

I’ve been home from college for already a week, so let’s see my progress on my list of things to do while home:

  1. Download music
  2. Eat Mexican food
  3. Visit the high school
  4. Eat Taste of Thai
  5. See Blora Light Display
  6. WHATABURGER

Well, I’ve done everything…Now what?

Since half of my items to-do had to do with food consumption, a subconscious 7th item, put on lots of weight, will be done by the end of break I fear. One thing that wasn’t on my list that I am surprised I have been doing a lot of is spending most of my time at home with my family. When I set out for home, I had a strictly managed schedule squeezing in every person I knew here, but after crossing into Bell County (while listening to WELCOME TO 254 – we’re class acts), all I wanted to do was snuggle with my dog and play New Super Mario Brothers with my sisters. Which for the most part is what I have been doing. I’m not a hermit though. I have seen many of, but not all, my friends. Which is another thing — meeting back up with my friends here was much different than I had expected. I had expected a huge embrace or a sign from the universe declaring I was back, but instead of nicely partitioned shift, it was as if I hadn’t left and yet I felt I missed something. Does that make sense? Of course not…let me think.. OK! So, it’s like when Gandalf comes back in The Two Towers. He’d died and all and missed out on the last third of the first book and the beginning of the second, but he’s still the same, and Legolas, Gimli, and Aragorn treat him as such. But he still doesn’t know everything, yet he wasn’t away for long enough to really miss much, so the time you thought would be used for catching up was really rendered unnecessary. Making sense yet? Agh, I give up…

That is not to say my reunions were bad at all. They were great, and once I overcame those awkward bits at the start, we were off and running.

Here are some pics from our trip to Blora. I regret half of these faces….

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Stay Tuned,

~T

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

