Skip to content

Au Naturale

January 22, 2011

I’ve been very involved with all things natural lately.

No, I haven’t gone on my transcendentalist pilgrimage to the pond……yet.

But! In other news, I have finally gotten a job! After much kicking and screaming (and a little guilting), suddenly the financial aid office ‘discovered’ a new opening in the work study department. So what is it?! Info desk? Library assistant? Mail assistant?

Nope. Recycling. Typical.

Recycling is important, even if you aren't paid to do it

Well, I suppose that if I so desperately need a job like my parents (I am starting to believe) brainwashed me into thinking, any job will do. And after two days of recycling and saving the world, I have newfound appreciation for recycling. As in, WHY THE F DO YOU HAVE SO MANY WATER BOTTLES AND CARDBOARD STOCK?!?! JUST GET A REAL WATER BOTTLE AND A JUMBO BOX OF CEREAL FROM COSTCO! That rant was brought to you by: Moore Hall 3rd floor recycling room, where it took me seriously thirty minutes to sort through it all.

The job isn’t without it’s perks. The other three people who work with me are all nice and distinct in their own ways. I set my hours for whenever I want. And…. I get a skeleton key, which means I can use it to open any door on campus. ANY DOOR!!!!! I can’t wait til I get my first shift by myself. It’s like my own Marauder’s Map. Just without the map. With it, I feel I’ll have a lot of much needed adventures.

Also, it appears that I don’t have to whore myself out online to find guys.

Natural dating works. Who knew.

Anyways, he shall heretofore be referred to as Goofy to save his reputation identity. I’ve known him for about two weeks now. He’s very interesting. He showed me this movie that I’m now obsessed with called Sita Sings the Blues. He has a Wii, which is probably the only reason I’m in it. Whatever it is that is this.He likes Disney/puppets/children, which is interesting to note because I hate children. So now you all know. Including him, because he’s probably reading. Also: he made me watch the Twilight Zone today. It wasn’t so bad as I thought it would be, but I don’t think I’ll ever know what he sees in it.

On our first date (at this point, if I was writing in my password journal, I’d start to doodle and giggle, but I’m a grown up now, so I’ll just stick to the news), we stopped by Jimmy John’s to get some food before seeing a movie. However, when I walked in I discovered it was more like the inner ring of the seventh circle of hell. I made it out ok, and we went to the movie.

So now it’s my turn to think of something. Since he’s a vegetarian (weird, right?) I can’t take him to Chic-Fil-A in good faith. So I’ll be looking for things to do. But now, partly because I know he’s probably reading and partly because Mary Adams taught me never to throw pearls before swine, I’m going to conclude this story here. It’s best to keep your audience guessing.

Tune in next time,

~T

One Comment leave one →
  1. Calli permalink
    March 7, 2011 3:29 am

    I love this one.

Leave a Reply

